Tenafly Borough Hall, 100 Riveredge Road, Tenafly, NJ 07670    201-568-6100    HOURS: Mon-Fri 8:30am - 4:30pm


Welcome to Tenafly Government! Tenafly is governed under a special charter granted by the New Jersey Legislature. This charter retains most aspects of the Borough form of government, with the addition of initiative, referendum, and recall features. The government consists of a Mayor and a Borough Council comprising six council members, with all positions elected at large. A Mayor is elected directly by the voters to a four-year term of office, and is eligible for re-election. The Borough Council consists of six members elected to serve three-year terms on a staggered basis, with two seats coming up for election each year. Tenafly is in the Ninth Congressional District and is part of New Jersey's 37th Legislative District.

NJSA:40A:60-1 et. seq. describes the Borough Form of Government:

Mayor and 6 Council. They are elected at-large. Mayor has a 4 year term. Council has staggered 3 year terms. Partisan
First week in January
Head of municipal government. The Mayor sees that state laws and borough ordinances are faithfully executed. The Mayor presides over Council, but votes only to break ties. Can veto ordinances subject to override by 2/3 majority of Council. Appoints subordinate officers with Council approval; after 30 days or upon Council disapproval, Council fills posts.
Legislative body of municipality. Overrides Mayor's veto by 2/3 majority of all members. Confirms Mayor's appointments. Gains appointment power upon failure to confirm Mayor's appointee or after office vacant for 30 days. Has all executive responsibility not placed in office of Mayor.
Mayor is head of municipal government and sees that state laws and Borough ordinances are faithfully executed. Council has all executive responsibility not placed in office of Mayor. Council may delegate, by ordinance, all or a portion of executive responsibility to an Administrator. Council may adopt an administrative code.